7 Stages of Alzheimer’s Disease and Its Symptoms

According to the Alzheimer’s Association, Alzheimer’s is a type of dementia that causes problems with memory, thinking, and behavior. Symptoms usually develop slowly and get worse over time, becoming severe enough to interfere with daily tasks.

There are different types of dementia but Alzheimer’s is the most common. Alzheimer’s is not a normal part of aging and worsens over time. Alzheimer’s has no current cure, but treatments for symptoms are available as research continues.

Symptoms of Alzheimer’s

The most common early symptom of Alzheimer’s is difficulty remembering newly learned information. Changes typically begin in the part of the brain that affects learning. As Alzheimer’s advances, it leads to increasingly severe symptoms, including disorientation, mood and behavior changes; deepening confusion about events, time and place; unfounded suspicions about family, friends and professional caregivers; more serious memory loss and behavior changes; and difficulty speaking, swallowing and walking.

7 Stages of Alzheimer’s Disease

Stage One

  • In this stage, the person functions normally have no memory loss and are mentally healthy. People with NO dementia would be considered in stage 1.

Stage Two

  • Mild loss of short-term memory. Small but noticeable lapses may present as age=related (momentarily forgetting where you parked your car)
  • Minor loss of language skills- choosing incorrect words, trouble to recall words or names of familiar places.

Stage Three

  • This stage includes increased forgetfulness, slight difficulty concentrating, decreased work performance. At this stage, persons loved ones will begin to notice a cognitive decline.

Stage Four

  • Heightened forgetfulness- trouble recalling recent events.
  • Loss of ability to perform mental math.
  • They may also start withdrawing from family or friends because socialization becomes difficult.
  • At this stage, a physician can detect clear cognitive problems during a patient interview and exam.

Stage Five

  • People in this stage have major memory deficiencies and need some assistance to complete daily tasks such as dressing, bathing, preparing meals. Memory loss is more prominent and may include major relevant aspects of current lives like forgetting an address or phone number.

Stage Six

  • People in stage 6 require extensive assistance in their daily lives. They start forgetting names of close family members and have little memory of recent events. Many people can remember only some details of their early life. Their ability to speak declines. Personality changes occur, anxiety or agitation may occur.

Stage Seven

  • People in this stage have essentially no ability to speak or communicate. They require assistance with most activities (e.g., using the toilet, eating). They often lose psychomotor skills, for example, the ability to walk.

It is our honor at Home Health CC to help families who may be unable to care for their loved ones. The Skilled Nurses at Home Health CC allow your loved one to maintain the independence of their daily routines and familiar surroundings. We help your loved one avoid the emotional trauma of leaving their cherished home behind while helping cope with the dementia illness.

Because each of our clients is unique, our dementia-care program treats them uniquely. Home Health CC customizes dementia care plans for each person and our specially-trained memory care experts understand the complexity memory impairments can create in a home.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Skilled Nursing Care

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *